Saint René Descartes University offers Scholar's Degree to real scholars

C-SPAN (Cable-Satellite Public Affairs Network), an American cable television network, reserves the title of 'Doctor' for medical doctors only. You can have an earned Ph.D. from an accredited university, even from an Ivy League school, and that would not change the matter one bit.

Paradoxically, even the Chronicle of Higher Education (CHE) reserves the title of 'Doctor' for those who have a M.D., yet the academic newspaper and website mostly targets readers with a Ph.D.

The original meaning of the word doctor is 'to teach.' It is therefore primary, secondary, and tertiary education teachers with a Ph.D. who come closest to meeting the standards of the title of 'Doctor', yet the title is monopolised by a profession whose terminal degree is not even the much worshipped Doctor of Medicine (M.D.).

What makes this even more unfair, is the fact that in the United States 'Professors' are always tertiary education teachers, and after several years an Assistant Professor can even become tenured as an Associate Professor or Professor of full rank. This option is not available to primary or secondary education teachers, even if they have earned a Ph.D. in Education or in other fields.

The facts are these: J.D. and M.D. degrees are professional doctorates, and are actually first, not terminal degrees.

Professional doctorates originated in the United States with the introduction of the M.D. at Columbia University in 1767. The Ph.D. was first awarded at Yale in 1861. The J.D. was introduced in 1870 at Harvard University. The term 'professional doctorate' is used to refer to research doctorates with a focus on applied research, or research as used for professional purposes.

Also, the Ph.D. is a research-based doctoral programme, while the M.D. is not.

For these and other reasons, Saint René Descartes University (StRDU) does not award either professional or research-based doctorate degrees. Saint René Descartes University awards no doctorate degree, and in fact it awards no traditional degree whatsoever.

Saint René Descartes University does not grant traditional Bachelor's, Master's, or Doctorate degrees, but the following new progressive degrees:
  • Diplomate's Degree (D.D. or DD)
  • Professional's Degree (P.D. or PD)
  • Scholar's Degree (S.D. or SD)
Progressive degree criteria distinguish between first and terminal degrees, and professional's degrees (PD) are less distinguished and/or advanced than (research-based) scholar's degrees (SD).

The first progressive degree, a Diplomate's Degree in Criminal Justice, was awarded by William Cullen Bryant University on 15 March 2010, with the imprimatur of the beloved Sir Rev. Dr. Joe David Warner, of the Regal House of Warner (Royal House of Angevin-Plantagenet of Warenne). Therefore progressive degrees actually have a regal pedigree.

The first honorary Scholar's Degree (SD), a Scholar's Degree in Journalism honoris causa (hc), was awarded by Saint René Descartes University on 17 June 2010.

The first non-honorary Scholar's Degree (SD), a Scholar's Degree in Education, was awarded by Saint René Descartes University on 18 March 2012 [1].

In order to fight the societal discrimination towards people who hold a Ph.D. or other kind of research-based doctorate, but who are usually never referred to as "Doctor So and So" on C-SPAN, or on the CHE, because they are not a medical doctor (as if this is someone who is actually more qualified!), or who will never even be called "Professor So and So", simply because they don't teach at a college or university, but at a high school, or at some other kind of non-tertiary education institution, Saint René Descartes University offers the genuine rank of research scholar in any field, to any individual holding professional credentials worthy of a membership in International Careers.

Saint René Descartes University (StRDU) is an accredited seminary college of the Cesidian Church (CCh), and an accredited institutional observer of Paradiplomatic Affairs (PDA). The Chancellor of StRDU has also acknowledged the Charter of CCLP Worldwide — a widely recognised global consensus statement on ethics and values for a sustainable future, formally endorsed by over 2,000 organisations and individuals around the world — and is committed to the active promotion and realisation of its goals.

Moreover, StRDU has also been granted permanent status as a consultative organisation accredited to the Organization of Emerging African States (OEAS), a young IGO and 503(c)(3) charitable organisation in the US. Its main website URL:

Besides the seminary college, StRDU also has a law school, the Centre for Cesidian Law, and a health school, the Salubriology School. On 9 October 2011, the University also launched a school of general studies, the 5WATS (Fifth World Agricultures Technologies and Solutions):

Unlike most universities, StRDU is not an artificial society — ie a political or phoney society — but a more natural society of alternative scholars. Even its domains show this feature:

Unlike most universities, StRDU is not a national institution , but an international institution. Now even its domains show this feature, and in a strong way:

The UMMOA already associated with two international superprize candidates

Cesidian political science gaining unexpected academic respectability

OEAS Consultative Organizations

Saint René Descartes University
HMRD Cesidio Tallini [2, 3, 4]
Saint René Descartes University